College News

CAS News  Back to CAS News

Students invited to prestigious Nobel meeting

TAMPA, Fla. -- Three University of South Florida physics students have been invited to attend the 62nd Nobel Laureates Meeting in Lindau, Germany.

Physics graduate students Joseph Fogarty, Evan Lafalce and Aaron Landerville were selected for this prestigious and extremely competitive international honor. More than 20,000 young researchers apply to attend this meeting each year.

The meeting, which will be held in July, will be dedicated to physics this year and include more than 25 Nobel Laureates and 550 young researchers from around the world. The six-day meeting will provide an opportunity to exchange ideas, discuss projects and build international networks.

“It is a testament to the outstanding quality of Joe, Evan and Aaron, and their faculty mentors--Drs. Sagar Pandit, Xiaomei Jiang and Ivan Oleynik--that they have received this highly selective honor,” said Pritish Mukherjee, chairman of the Department of Physics at USF. “We are thrilled at their well-deserved success and the international recognition that they will bring to our university, the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, and to USF Physics.”

Fore more information about the Nobel Laureate meeting, visit its website.


Filed under:Arts and Sciences Student Success Physics School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics  
Author: Michele Dye