College News

CAS News  Back to CAS News

English professor among Florida Book Award winners

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- With its ninth annual competition now complete, the Florida Book Awards has announced winners for books published in 2014 in the nine categories of competition.

Ira Sukrungruang's book "Southside Buddhist Essays" won the bronze medal in the general nonfiction category

Coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries, the Florida Book Awards is the nation’s most comprehensive state book awards program. It was established in 2006 to celebrate the best Florida literature. Authors must be full-time Florida residents, except in the nonfiction and visual arts categories, where the subject matter must focus on Florida.

The more than 200 submissions for the 2014 awards were read by juries of three members, each nominated from across the state by co-sponsoring organizations. Jurors are authorized to select up to three medalists (including one gold winner, one silver runner-up and one bronze medalist) in each of the nine categories; jurors also are authorized to make no selections in a given year.

General Nonfiction
Gold Medal: "Merlin Stone Remembered"(Llewellyn Worldwide) by David B. Axelrod, Lenny Schneir, and Carol Thomas
Silver Medal: "Einstein Relatively Simple: Our Universe Revealed in Everyday Language" (World Scientific Publishing Company) by Ira Mark Egdall Bronze Medal: "Southside Buddhist Essays" (University of Tampa Press) by Ira Sukrungruang

Filed under:Arts and Sciences English Faculty Awards